Cover Art

So, I believe I’ve found yet another mistake to chalk up in my indie publishing saga.

I think I’m going to have to change Elegy’s cover art.

I don’t want to. I really like the artwork I’ve done for it, and I think it makes for a great cover, giving a glimpse into the story without giving anything away. The problem is, I drew that cover between 2 and 3 years ago, when I was an artist working to produce a webcomic twice a week. Ever since that project ended, I haven’t really been keeping up my artwork, so I’m not sure how much effort it would take me to get those skills back. I have a feeling it would be a fair amount.

Now, if Elegy was a stand-alone, that wouldn’t be a problem. But as I’ve clearly titled it, it’s Book 1 of the Arbiter Codex. I’m 30,000 words into Book 2. I don’t know that there’s any way that I could create a cover for Book 2 in the same style as the one for Elegy, because those skills are so atrophied.

I used the current cover for Elegy because that’s been its cover ever since I wrote the first draft, way back in 2008. That was always going to be the cover, and at the time, there wasn’t any need to worry about it, because I was doing artwork very consistently, and improving all the time.

I’m in the process of seeing if I can develop something that I like better, that I can consistently create more in the same style of for the following books in the Codex. If I can, I will reluctantly change the cover art… for the good of the later books in the series, and for the sake of consistency.

But I really don’t want to.

Leave a Reply

