Clarification – The Hero Always Wins Review

So, I’ve been thinking about this since yesterday. In my haste to put up a review for a book I really loved, I think that the original intent of one of my criticisms may have gotten lost.

In my 5-star review for THE HERO ALWAYS WINS, I noted that my “biggest” complaint was the title. This makes it sound like it’s a major problem, but it’s not. It’s only my “biggest” problem because I didn’t really have any others!

I confess to being concerned that, due to the title, a reader of epic fantasy who would almost certainly love this book as much as I do might pass on by because they thought the book was a satirical fantasy along the lines of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld, instead of a strong epic/heroic fantasy that turns genre conventions on their head. Mind you, I love Discworld and might have picked it up on that alone, but I would have been surprised by what I found within.

I don’t want that to happen.

At this point, I’m not going to edit the original review, because everything I said in it was true. Out of the whole book, the only thing I directly wondered about changing was the title – and that is the author’s call, not mine.

My criticism comes from a place of genuine love of a really good story, and I want it to succeed beyond the author’s wildest dreams.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

