NaNoWriMo 2011 – Halfway Home

Here it is: the halfway mark of NaNo 2011.

I’m still ahead of the game, although my lead has dwindled a bit. As of yesterday’s writing session, I ended at 26,397 words.

This is my first real sci-fi novel attempt, and I’m finding it tricky. It seems to be easy enough to back my characters into an impossible situation, but getting them out again without resorting to deus ex machina is tricky. I’m hoping that the methods I’ve used so far look more like character ingenuity and less like “Gee… now what?” I’m also trying to avoid technobabble just for the sake of it, but I’m using some sci-fi methods that I dreamed up years ago, and now I’m just happy to put them into a story.

The stakes got upped pretty severely back at the end of Chapter 9. I knew the general plot point, but the actual details of it came to me as I was writing it. I needed a reason for Liana to commit to the story, instead of continuing as just a hired ship captain – so I gave her one. Made it personal, as it were.

When I start today, my main character will still be trapped in a secure lab, behind a blast door of six-inch-thick impenetrable composite – with the control panel burned out. Oh, and she’s been shot in the leg. They’re no longer about to be explosively decontaminated and they’ve got the air back on, but she needs to get back to the planet’s surface before something much worse happens.

Hopefully Liana’s genetically-engineered brain can come up with a solution before it’s too late… because I’ve been having real trouble trying to figure out how to get her out of there.

Onward to 30k!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2011 – Halfway Home

Leave a Reply

