NaNoWriMo 2011: Turkey Day!

It seems like Thanksgiving always falls around the middle-end of Nano. Weird, eh?

As of last night, my word count is 40,046, which means I’m down to the last 10,000 words, with 6 days to go. Should be a piece of cake, right?

As I discovered yesterday while browsing Wikipedia, I think I will need to change the name of this particular story if I ever end up publishing it (after heavy editing & revising, of course!) because Starfire happens to be the name of a board game system from the 80s, and is the backdrop setting for a set of books I really like by David Weber & Steve White. While titles can’t be copyrighted, I like those particular books and setting well enough that I do not want to be confused with them, nor do I want to tread on the toes of a couple of my favorite authors.

Besides, it’s pretty clear to me that the name must have popped out of my subconscious, because I definitely already knew all of that, but it had floated out of my mind.

Thankfully, it’s just a name and working title, which means it can be easily changed in revision. If I ever decide to put this particular story out there. That will depend on how well I manage to end it and what the beta readers/writing group think of it.

Right now my plan is to spend December planning and plotting Arbiter Codex #2, which I believe I am going to call ‘Legacy’ (but we’ll see). After the holidays, and hopefully once I have a plot that I’m comfortable with and I feel advances the series and the characters, I will begin the writing process.

‘Legacy’ (if that’s what it ends up being called) is going to be a severe departure from my norm. I’m going to have to outline it, at least a little, which is not at all what I normally do. However, I have discovered (from my approximately 80,000 total word fiasco a couple of months ago) that writing a Book 2 demands a lot more than just sitting down and writing. Threads have to be preserved, tone and setting have to be expanded without destroying what’s already been set down, etc. Who would’ve guessed? (Probably me, if I’d spent 10 minutes thinking about it instead of just writing.)

Hopefully, once January 1 comes around, I’ll be ready to begin actually setting words to digital paper, and we’ll start to see Arbiter Codex #2 taking shape.

Enjoy your Thanksgiving, fellow United Statians – and if there are any of you from elsewhere, I hope 24-11-2011 treats you well 😉

Leave a Reply

