NaNoWriMo 2011: Day 29 and VICTORY

That pretty much says it all right there.

When I ended my writing session earlier today, I had 1,678 words left to go. I made the decision right then and there that I was going to push myself across the finish line tonight, instead of waiting until tomorrow and the last minute.

This year went from amazingly easy and awesome to grueling and murderous. I don’t think it helped that I had already done a LOT of writing in the past couple of months, and this NaNo left me totally burnt. I decided to end the story at 50,228, mostly because I had an entire subplot that I just couldn’t make work in the time allotted. If I’d tried to make it actually work, I’d still be worrying about it and not getting writing done. If I’d had that subplot, I probably would be at 50k not even having finished it yet.

Now that I’ve crossed the finish line, I can get back to blogging more often and hopefully spending some more time on Twitter as I start some slow, methodical work on determining what D’Arden and Elisa’s next adventure will entail. I need to do some serious world-building to make sure that all the stuff I put in during NaNo 2008 that made Elegy what it is will make sense and be relevant to the plot and the world as I continue to develop it into a new story.

Here come the holidays!

Leave a Reply

