Top 5 Books of 2011

Since I sort of inadvertently became a book reviewer this year, I thought I should go back and look at my list to see what my favorite books of 2011 were.

I haven’t done nearly as much reading as I would have liked since October, for two reasons: my budget got a lot tighter when the wife and I moved into our new house, and also because preparing for and then executing a NaNoWriMo strategy took up most of the time I would otherwise be reading. Now I’m working on planning and writing my next book very actively, which also leaves little time for reading, but I’m hoping to get back to doing more quite soon.

On a side note: this top 5 will only be out of the books I reviewed here on my blog this year, because that only seems fair. Also, I would like to note that actually ranking these was very difficult, since I enjoyed all of these books so much.

And yes, for those of you who are wondering: those are custom blue-manna themed star images designed in Photoshop by me.

…nobody was wondering, were they?

5

First Chosen by M. Todd Gallowglas
“First Chosen
is a strong entry into the indie fantasy market, helped significantly by its fascinating world and genuinely interesting characters.” (9/13/2011)

4

The Black God’s War by Moses Siregar III
“This is not just one of the best independent books I have ever read; this is one of the finest fantasy novels (period, full stop, etc etc) that I have read in many years.” (9/16/2011)

3
The Hero Always Wins by Robert Eaton
“When the first major plot twist happened, I had been lulled by the fantasy tropes, and then I got hit in the face with a real, honest-to-god surprise. The last time I was actually surprised by a book was Changes by Jim Butcher, and that is some high praise right there.” (9/5/2011)

2
Scriber by Ben S. Dobson
“I really can’t describe in text how much I liked this book. The independent author community should welcome this new writer with open arms, because he will be lending credit to our movement for years to come.” (10/8/2011)

1
Ghost Story
by Jim Butcher
“If you’re already a fan of the series, you probably don’t need a review to tell you that this one isn’t to be missed. If you went looking for reviews anyway, you can rest assured that you really ought to buy this book.” (7/30/2011)

One thought on “Top 5 Books of 2011

  1. Pingback: Review: Halloween Jack & The Devil’s Gate by M. Todd Gallowglas (@MGallowglas) | Eye of the Storm

Leave a Reply

