2012, Goals and Observations

As I type this, is it almost halfway through the first day of 2012. I have never been a big fan of the ‘New Year’s Resolution’, mostly because it seems to be part of the ‘Resolution’ process to abandon them approximately 5 1/2 days after making them, all the while cursing yourself and moaning about how it’s too hard and maybe you’ll try again next year, maybe. I made a resolution a few years ago not to make any more New Year’s Resolutions, because of my observing this very trend in so very many people.

Instead, I’ll choose to lay down some goals. Unlike resolutions, goals are something you generally strive to obtain because it’s something you want to achieve, rather than a (flimsy) resolve to stop doing something that you’re already doing. It can be a goal to do something like that, but it’s simply a better context as a goal.

I have some personal goals as well, but I’ll share here my writing goals for 2012.

– Complete, edit, revise & publish Arbiter Codex 2 (by 2nd quarter 2012)
– Write & publish at least one new short story, two novelettes & one novella (by end of year)
– Learn at least 3 new things about writing (by end of year)
– Win NaNoWriMo 2012 (November)

That’s what I’ve got so far. I’ll update the list in the future should I decide to add more, but given that I also have a family and a professional life to manage, not to mention school, I think that’s a pretty good list.

There’s another thing that I’ve been thinking about. Like any good author, I have a Google Alert set for myself, so that I can see when Google’s web-spider-bots index something relating to my name. Over the past week or so, I’ve noticed that my books are popping up on underground ebook download sites. In essence, I’m being pirated.

Honestly, this doesn’t bother me. I’m a firm believer in the idea that obscurity is a greater threat to an indie writer like myself than piracy. I also know that no matter what anyone does, piracy can’t be stopped – at least, not completely – which is why I don’t put DRM on my work. There’s no point, because all DRM does is make it more difficult for people who paid for my work to actually read it. It doesn’t stop pirates; never has, never will.

Obviously, I put a lot of work into my writing, and I believe that it’s worth something, which is why I’ve chosen to put a price tag on it. However, the fact that my books are being pirated at all means that I’ve accomplished something – somebody actually likes my stuff well enough to copy it! This makes me feel more flattered than anything else.

So, all I ask is that if you should come to my books via an unauthorized download and you like them, please buy a copy from an authorized source. Failing that, please tell all of your friends to go buy copies from an authorized source. xD

As a side note, I have decided to take today’s gorgeous weather (~50′ F here in the Northeast New England) as Mother Nature’s promise that 2012 won’t suck as badly as 2011.

Well, at least until the world ends.

Leave a Reply

